Ender 3 V2 - Pause at Height resumes quickly on own.

• Hey everyone,

I'm very new to 3D printing, but I'm already having a great time with it.

I'm using Pause at Height(layer) and I want it to stay paused will I change filament but... It begins printing around 10 seconds from pausing in the first place. I've tried using Ultimaker Cura 4.7 and Creality Slicer 4.2. I get the same results.

I've noticed that the screen is giving me the option to Pause print. So I'm assuming it thinks its still printing or it's resuming print because of that maybe. I also tried pressing the pause print button while the printer was in it's "10-second" pause at height mode. But when pressing that button it didn't do anything until the print started printing again... Then It paused. I also figured that had something to do with the code command line completing itself before moving onto the next line.

Again, I am very new to this, but if anyone has a solution to this that would be great! I'm assuming its something very silly that I'm doing wrong.

Thanks again, everyone! Not sure how to include the code... Sorry about that.
    -Michael

• I have found a way to do it with Cura 4.7.1.

I used the "Pause at Height" command with the BQ (M25) option (found under Extensions/Post Processing/Modify G-Code). To make it pause correctly, you also need to add something to the "G-code Before Pause" command line -- I added M300 so it would beep when it was ready. If you leave it blank then the printer will only pause and then restart on it's own.
    [alt text]Cura Settings.JPG
    With this method the printer did a hard pause at the parked position and did not restart on it's own. I was able to do a filament change. However, I did make one additional change to the gcode to make it successful. I had to comment out the last extruder advance (that was set to reverse the "Retraction" entry), else it pushed a big blob out just as it started to print.

;script: PauseAtHeight.py
    ;current layer: 3