Ki max - ai lidar calibration failure

Hi all

Purchased my K1 MAX about three weeks ago. I am new to 3D printing. Setup went OK and I have downloaded a number of models and successfully printed them.

However, if I click the Print calibration box when it comes to laser calibration it fails with the error #Key506 AI laser calibration failure.

As a newbie please can anyone tell me if there is a way to solve this issue.

Many thanks in advance.

Welcome to the Creality forum… :upside_down_face:

As a new K1 Max owner myself you might write to cs@Creality.com with all your purchase information, serial # and picture of the error on the screen. They will ask for that anyways and see what they suggest.

As far as that error goes I am not sure what it means. :face_with_diagonal_mouth:

While you are waiting for Creality support to answer you could try a couple things:

On my K1 Max I have turned the settings off for the Lidar function in the options. See if that works…
Also as a last resort carefully unplug the Lidar from the side of the extruder and see if that fixes it.

Thank you for your reply.

I will contact Creality support as you suggest.

I am happy to wait for a response from cs before investigating myself as at present it is having no impact on my ability to print or the quality of the printed models.

Error 506 simply returns “unknown error” so very little help there!

Thank you again.

Sometimes sending a message about an issue on this forum to:

@CREALITY or @Collin

will get an answer also.

Hi Jim

Sorry for the delay in replying.

I used the chat bot to try and contact CS and found out what error 506 means. This is what the bot returned:

"The problem is from lidar is failed to detect the white sticker on the left of the bed without pausing.

please make sure the sticker is without any defect and check if the lidar is working properly.

And clean the lens on the lidar, make sure the sticker height level is not far away from the level of the bed.