Ender 3v3 SE homing and firmware update issue

Hey guys,
I’m a tech teacher who maintains a lab with about 14 Ender 3 V2’s. All been great once I learned their ins and outs. Not claiming to be an expert but not my first rodeo either.

So this V3 SE has me puzzled. It’s got 2 issues- It was initially working normally for about a month or so until the following has happened.
First- The X axis travels in the opposite direction of the limit switch when homing, to the right, away from the limit switch bumper. It goes until it crashes. Manually clicking the limit switch does not stop the travel. I am not able to manually jog the machine around either, when I go to the move controls it just wants to go right into a home sequence.

Second issue - Now my first thought was update the firmware since its running v1.0.4. Downloaded the 1.0.6, formatted the Creality OEM SD card to FAT32 and 4096 allocation size. Updated the screen first successfully. Then inserted the motherboard SD card while the machine was off. Turn on and got the blue screen freeze with nothing happening. Let it sit for awhile with no progress. Turned off, changed the file name of the .bin file to “firmware.bin” and tried “firmware123.bin”. These attempts lead to printer just going straight into a select language and auto Z offset calibation sequence with no other options. It does this with or without an SD card in the slot. So it appears the machine is just ignoring the bin file altogether. It read print files no problem before I formatted it just won’t boot into the firmware update. I put the original file without changing the name back on the card and now it’s just acting like the card is not in there and going into that sequence again. None of which I can just let go and see what happens since it starts crashing into the right side of the frame as it’s doing it’s thing.

I reached out to customer support tonight, but in the meantime does anyone see anything I’m missing?
Thanks!
Lee