Newby questions

Hello All, I am a 3d printing newbie and am looking for a place where I can ask stupid questions and get answers back worded like you are speaking to a child :slight_smile: Well maybe not that bad, but the more I read online, the more confused I am. All the jargon and lingo is confusing.

I have had my K1 Max for a couple month’s with mixed results. I use the Orca Slicer. When printing i try to use the settings that are on the label inside the printer. I have only used PLA ,Hyper and Silk filament. Using the .4 nozzle that came installed.

So here are my newbie questions to start with…

Do I need to clean my nozzle often or do i just wait for there to be an issue?
I struggle with detailed prints. Maybe i am expecting too much from the printer and it isnt capable? For example i tried to print a small hand rail that i want to put on a model i am working on and I tried to print it at 1mm and nothing came out at all. Please dont laugh at me. I do enough of that myself.

I dont want to make this too long to for someone to read so i will stop here but i have more newbie questions crashing around in my head.

Hello @Rick

Welcome…! :wave:

Glad you could join the Creality Forum…!Creality

Ask away man… Being a newbie myself (got K1 and K1 Max Sept 2023) I know how it is to be confused… :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: Lots of fun stuff to learn… There are many on this forum who will answer your questions…

I use those settings as a guidline. You’ll have to experiment. For example on the K1 Max settings for Generic PLA it shows 230 Nozzle / 45 Bed. I use mostly Creality filament and settings of 230 nozzle / 60 Bed. Seems to stick better. Your mileage may vary… :slightly_smiling_face:

You most likely have a brass nozzle which will wear quicker than a steel nozzle for example… If you use PLA you shouldn’t have to change nozzles for quite awhile unless it gets clogged or blocked somehow…