Possible to upgrade KE to Sprite Extruder Pro?

I am not sure this is a possibility but it looks to be a significant upgrade over the stock KE unit. I like the overall setup, the extruder looks beefy and I like the all metal design. I also like that it is sleeker and less ‘bulky’ than the KE design.

The hot end and nozzles look to be a better design as well. Although it only has one fan for model cooling I am not sure how much positive effect this has. I am new to 3d printing but am skilled in mechanical and electrical/electronics, so I most likely could just buy it and make it work. Sometimes though the upgrade path is more sane if its something that has precedent knowledge to pull from.

The price is a little steep at about $65 but I am a believer in you get what you pay for. Could this unit be retrofitted or would it turn into a firmware nightmare, thus forcing me to go with an after market open source mainboard. Down the rabbit hole we go.

Creality Sprite Pro Extruder for Ender 3

Only issue is you can’t change any rotation distance on the KE at present so if that doesn’t match the existing Sprite the it will extrude differently so could be more trouble than it is worth. My V3SE on a Sonic Pad reports a rotation distance of 7.53 FWIW (same extruder as a KE)

Wouldn’t the extrude distance be something that could be modified in firmware (Klipper)?

I am not afraid to modify config files, as a Linux user its common practice. Although I have not rooted this machine, that is a subject that is on my list of things to get into. If you had a good article on that you could point me to that would be appreciated :+1:

I am actually glad you responded as I wanted to say thanks for your posts regarding micro-swiss products. I had been asking myself “I wonder If there are US made parts for these 3d printers?” :slight_smile: So just today I made my first purchase from them, I got the machined heatsink for my KE.